Home > Uncategorized > A Brother’s Love

A Brother’s Love

Where has the time gone Mil?

What happened to that shy little girl with curly hair who used to latch onto my hand when we were about to cross the street? The girl who would jump into bed with me whenever a storm woke her in the middle of the night?

She grew up.

I watched you become a fashion-conscious, slightly boy crazy, teenage girl. Your tastes in music graduated from TLC, The Spice Girls, and The Backstreet Boys to T. I. and Chris Brown. I saw you inherit the same love of journalism that I did, even if it was more geared towards photos than writing. You somehow managed to become this confident, take-no-nonsense woman right under my nose.

And here I thought I was supposed to be the sneaky one in the family?

We are so very different that people often have trouble believing we grew up together. We bicker, we say things in anger that we don’t mean once we’ve calmed down, we send each other funny text messages about the people around us.

You have no idea how filled with love and pride I was as I watched you walk across that stage. Were it not for Aunt K glaring right at us, me and Jingles would have been yelling it to anybody who would listen. You also have no idea just how old I felt. My baby sister was graduating from high school. There might have been some moisture in my eyes as I drove to the school that day but I’ll deny it to you if ever asked.

You’re very bossy, at times rude, and you have a tendency to whine. You know all of this as I’ve said it to your face on multiple ocassions. Yet of all your best qualities, my personal favourite is that you refuse to take shit from absolutely anyone. I guess as much as we both want to deny it, we picked up some of Dad’s personality. Yours was your mouth.

You can stop giving me that dirty look any time now.

Little sister, you may be 19 years old today but to me you will always be…

…the girl who I read to while she was sick.

…the girl I taught to swim.

…the girl  I would weasel into going on roller coasters with me.

…the girl I would bicker with just to get her to laugh.

…the girl who would want to get in bed with me on Christmas Eve.

…the girl who would bring her barbies to my room on a rainy day and we would play make believe games with my own toys.

So even when you graduate from college, even when you get a job as a broadcast journalist, even as you get married and make me an uncle (for his sake, in that order — just kidding), and see your own little kids grow up to be who they are, always remember that at one point me and you were that small.

I would look out for you when we were little kids.

I’ve done it for too long to stop now.

Love,

Your brother,

Kenny Ken

Mil's high school graduation, June 6, 2008

Mil's high school graduation, June 6, 2008

  1. January 19, 2009 at 10:36 PM

    So sweet!

  2. January 20, 2009 at 6:32 AM

    What a wonderful letter.

  3. January 20, 2009 at 11:06 AM

    Awww, that was awesome. You two are lucky to have each other! BTW, I liked how you were trying to be pretty sneaky and pysch us all out that you were quitting this blogging thing. Glad you are still around!

  4. January 21, 2009 at 4:56 AM

    Great letter and photo, Kendall, and welcome to wordpress! I’m quite flattered that we share a template!

  5. January 24, 2009 at 5:26 PM

    Awwwww nothing sweeter than a good brother. It took years for my brother and I to get to a good place, but here we are and I’m lovin it! It’s true we can’t pick our family, but sometimes we would have picked them anyway!

  6. January 25, 2009 at 10:20 AM

    I was so glad to see you aren’t “leaving” because I had just “found” you!! Welcome to WordPress! {her boobs ARE perkier, aren’t they?}

  7. D*
    March 28, 2009 at 4:42 AM

    You’re a lovely brother. If I had a brother I’d love a brother like you. 🙂

  8. March 29, 2009 at 8:35 PM

    Awwwww this made me cry!! Such a sweet letter!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

