Home > Uncategorized > You Say It Best…

You Say It Best…

This post was inspired by Brandy’s heartwarming post “Then He Loves You” and by Keith Whitley’s “When You Say Nothing At All”.

When you lay next to me in the middle of the night, and you think I’m fast asleep, you lean up to kiss me on the nose before snuggling back against my chest.

When you merely wrapped your arms around my waist and laid your head on my shoulder, rubbing the back of my neck, when you saw the inevitableĀ  breakdown of my parents’ marriage finally push me to the point of tears.

When you stand in my doorway trying to apologize and not being able to because you are too emotional to speak, you throw caution to the wind and just kiss me.

When you can start dancing with me downtown, in the middle of rush hour, to the music playing from an office window.

When we sit together studying in sweats and wearing our glasses, and despite the fact that we haven’t spoken in about two hours, the silence is comfortable enough that we don’t need to.

When I am second guessing myself and you make me look you in the eye, reminding me that you wouldn’t have faith in me if you had no reason to.

When you are asked why there is a picture of me with Daybreak on my shoulders on your desk at work and you say that you are proud of your family.

When you sit through my songs when they are new and still very raw every single time and then help me improve them.

When it’s cold and you’re curled up against my side, I can feel your hand tracing patterns over my back and then you nuzzle my neck and inhale.

When even though we’re incredibly angry with each other, you tell me what I need and not want to hear as we both appreciate the honesty later.

When you can make me smile with a look and my pulse race with a touch.

When our waitress gave you trouble for stealing one of the “few decent black guys”, you kept your cool and were still proud to be seen with me.

When I’m feeling under the weather and can barely speak without coughing up a lung, you can make me laugh and essentially come alive with rather hilarious use of shadow puppets.

When there is something I need to tell you, you give me time to figure out how all the while making it clear to me that you are there whenever I am ready to talk.

When I catch you staring into my eyes when you think my attention is focused elsewhere.

When you can convince me that going to the beach with your family will be fun and even get your mother to help you convince me.

When you have told said mother so much about me that she is ready to welcome me into the family whenever we’re ready.

When you remember that strawberry shortcake is indeed my favourite and make me one for my birthday.

When I tell you my past and expect you to turn away from me, you completely shock me by thanking me for the honesty.

When you send me hilarious, often perverted little text messages during the day just to make me laugh.

When we go to a nightclub and even though they are people everywhere around us, you make the world go away.

When the first thing you do when you see me in the morning is smile.

Neither of us is shy about telling the other that we love them, but sometimes it really is the simple things that mean the most.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 11, 2009 at 10:27 AM

    Oh man! You totally melted my heart with this one! You both are so lucky to have each other and it’s great that you realize it!

    I’m very happy you liked it Ma’am.

    Really? I tell her she got the short end of the stick when it came to boyfriends.

  2. February 11, 2009 at 12:54 PM

    Yayyyy I’m glad I’m not the only schmoopy one around here. It’s nice to read this in between all the Hating on Vday posts! Absolutely lovely.

    Schmoopy? I propose a trade in words. I give you “bless (insert pronoun here) cotton socks” and you give me “schmoopy”. Deal?

  3. February 11, 2009 at 12:56 PM

    Awww… that was so sweet.

    I just realized I still have your old URL in my reader, so all this time, I’ve been thinking you haven’t been posting. Duh. Sorry for ignoring you!

    Glad you have the updated link now, so it’s all good.

  4. Matt
    February 12, 2009 at 9:59 AM

    When you make me a sandwich right after we…

    She would laugh in my face if I asked, that or try and beat me. So abusive she is at times. ; )

  5. Maris
    February 15, 2009 at 10:32 PM

    Aw! “When You Say Nothing At All” is such a sweet song, I love the Allison Krauss version.

    It was one of the first songs I learned when the ex was giving me my education on country music. I like the Allison Krauss version as well.

  6. 06mickey
    September 3, 2009 at 4:29 AM

    I’ve read a few of ur entries and I’m loving this blog. U r definitely going to my blogroll!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

