Home > Uncategorized > Words Fail Me

Words Fail Me

stupidity

Dear New York Post,

Seriously?

The copy editors saw nothing wrong with this before giving it the OK to print?

If that’s the case, then you (the management) completely deserve the shitstorm headed your way.

Maybe you (the artist) thought you were being witty because of the recent chimpanzee mauling and how you thought Obama was crazy? Apparently you’re pretty short-sighted since it never occurred to you that likening a half-black president to a monkey was a very very bad idea.

I could ask why the cartoonist thought this was funny but I’d probably just be more infuriated by the answer. Quite honestly, I didn’t believe my mother when she called in full rant mode about this. I didn’t think any major paper today would actually be stupid enough (not naive enough to think no one would think about it, just that the collective staff was smarter) to not pull the plug on it. Then I saw it myself this morning.

Congratulations, you made a self-proclaimed motormouth speechless.

When the only reply I can make to my mother’s tirade on the evils of white men is that it was one idiot, a response which sounded weak even to my ears, then the line has been crossed twice. I could go into how despite the fact that this was the action of one man, it reflects poorly on a whole group of people but I just don’t have the energy.

Sometimes, there is really nothing you can say.

Sincerely,

In-Your-Eyes-Just-Another-Monkey

  1. February 20, 2009 at 1:10 PM

    I’m with you… nothing to say… speechless… and that doesn’t happen often.

    And yes, please, let your mother know that the actions of 1 person (or 100 or 1000) doesn’t convey in any way the feelings of millions more. There are many, many appalled people of ALL colors all over the world today.

  2. February 20, 2009 at 3:26 PM

    Thank you for pointing this atrocity out to your readers. I cannot believe how clueless, completely stupid, and unconscious people can be. You should bring your post to the attention of the editor/artist because they really need to issue a blatant apology for the utter stupidity of their actions.

  3. splendidmishap
    February 20, 2009 at 11:30 PM

    It’s always amazing to see what just “slips past” some stupid editor. Perhaps they were indicating that monkeys could write stimulus plans, but perhaps they overlooked how people would perceive this cartoon. I saw it earlier this morning and was like “Um…really?”

  4. February 21, 2009 at 9:45 PM

    I’m out of touch with America and it’s politics since I am no longer living there, but was the monkey supposed to be Obama?
    The first thing that ran through my head is that famous quote about if you put three monkeys together with a typewriter sooner or later they will write Hamlet. But like I said, I am out of touch with what is going on there…

  5. February 22, 2009 at 6:50 PM

    Well said, I most heartily agree. And the immediate response from the editor when the shit hit the fan let everyone know what a complete bonehead he is.

  6. February 22, 2009 at 7:30 PM

    Amen.
    I simply don’t get how people cannot see how damn blatantly racist such an image is.
    Just ugh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

