Home > Uncategorized > Where I Turn The Mental Filter Off

Where I Turn The Mental Filter Off

Here’s something that my friends in real life come to know about me very quickly. That’s the fact that once I consider you a friend, you are essentially part of my family now and there is very little I won’t do for you. For example, when a friend had her mom’s camera stolen at a party I forked over $60 to help pay for a new one. Or seriously contemplating making the near 3 hour drive just to try and help someone I had never met outside of blogging.

However, this also means that when actually asked for my opinion on problems within my various circles of friends is that I will often say what people don’t want to hear.

Essentially, I tell people when to pull their heads out of their asses.

All of the “he said, she said” bullshit finally frayed the last of my tattered nerves on a current drama bomb and I basically told everyone in the room to sit down, shut up, and start dealing with their problems like quasi-adults.

Hopefully I got through to them and things can start getting back to normal because the cause of the trouble is a truly stupid reason for friendships to be cut off.

But I’m not giving up on them.

  1. March 25, 2009 at 6:13 PM

    Everyone needs at least one friend like that 🙂

    If you told anyone who knows me reasonably well that there should be more people like me, they would hunt you down. Apparently, the world can barely handle one Kendall or some such nonsense.

    I’m far too awesome to NOT be cloned.

    (Kidding. Kind Of.)

  2. bwp
    March 25, 2009 at 6:47 PM

    I could use more friends like you. Everyone could, really.

    I’m goofy, get far too much pleasure from playing devil’s advocate with people, and tend to make dirty (as in brain bleach needed) comments about the couple two tables over.

    I probably shouldn’t be allowed in public.

  3. March 25, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    I’m the same way. People know that I don’t dick around giving bullshit advice/false opinions just because people don’t want to hear the truth.
    Good for you; sometimes you have to be blunt and serious abut things or else people just don’t get it.

  4. March 26, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    Friends like you who are upfront and honest are needed, even if it’s not always what people want to hear.

    …And am I the three-hour away blogger? Ha.

  5. Jefficho
    March 30, 2009 at 10:19 PM

    I like your blog and attitude, is there not a follower option though, I know if I bookmark it, it’ll get lost somewhere because there’s so many

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

