Home > Uncategorized > The Nomad, He Returns

The Nomad, He Returns

With as busy as this summer is going to be (still slightly bummed I won’t get to hang out with people in Chicago) and knowing my last year of college is going to be crazy hectic, it’s a given that I won’t be able to travel much.

The wanderlust? I feel it. Big time.

So pretty much on a whim, I start to look up discounts for train tickets in the summer of 2010.

New York? Heading there to celebrate the new year in December, so no need to go in the summer as well.

Boston? Drove there this January to visit Mami and meet my siblings/godchildren and as they’ll be coming to my graduation in June, a trip back would be overkill.

Miami? If I went to any city in Florida, it’ll be back to Gator Country to see all the old crew. But a separate trip may be in order for that purpose.

Washington DC? Haven’t been there (aside from layovers) since the Clinton days. Before people knew about Monica Lewinsky. I see potential here.

Checking prices…(cue Wii Fit ‘measuring’ music)…all done!

What’s this? $50 round trip? Raleigh to Washington DC? I believe we have a winner.

So from June 6 to June 15, I’ll be exploring the capitol city. Sure I’ll visit the monuments and museums I had never been to. But my main plan? To walk/ride buses/catch taxis/take the metro across the city and wander where my feet take me.

I may even get to meet some of you fantabulous DC bloggers.

And good times shall be had by all.

  1. April 27, 2009 at 9:41 AM

    It’s over a year away and I’m already excited. The chaos, it will ensue.

  2. April 27, 2009 at 11:21 AM

    Oh that will be a fun trip!

  3. April 28, 2009 at 6:02 PM

    Psh, well I guess an NC blogger meetup that first weekend of June is now out of the question… =P

  4. April 28, 2009 at 6:04 PM

    …Oh, and the second weekend. Well, there goes that.

  5. April 29, 2009 at 4:05 AM

    $50 roundtrip is not bad at all my good man. That’s a steal there. DC’s pretty good about public transportation too, so no real need for a car either. Should be a good time. Holla at the Obamas for me.

  6. April 29, 2009 at 10:22 AM

    Meandering brings me such joy. Sigh.

  7. May 2, 2009 at 4:41 PM

    I’m all about random trips to random locales. You’re making me want to do another, and I’ve just been back in town for less than a week!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

