Home > Uncategorized > If Heaven Has Express Mail…

If Heaven Has Express Mail…

Hey, me and Pippi had some free time after exploring downtown Nashville so I whipped this post up. Tomorrow is our first audition so you may see some rather panicky neurotic tweets over the next few days. Happy Father’s Day everyone.

Dear Grandpa,

I hope you’re enjoying yourself up there. I hope you have plenty of apples and baseball games to play. From the time I was a baby until you died, you stepped into the father-figure role for me. You taught me how to shave. How to drive a stick-shift. You taught me to dance. You taught me (by example) to carry myself with the same quiet dignity as you. Just sorry it took so long for me to apply the lesson. Lastly, it’s largely thanks to you and Grandma that I believe a marriage can work, much less last the 60+ years yours did. Love you.

Dear Old Man Gianni,

First, I have to say thank you for putting up with me. You caught me at the time in my life I was a fucked up, unhealthily angry kid. Somehow you helped make me the largely happy-go-lucky man I am now. You made me be sociable with the customers that came in. You made me care when we took some food over to the soup kitchen. You made me human. When I didn’t care about school you would make me sit in the back and do my homework, and having Lina and Gwen look over it. Most importantly? You would just talk with me. Telling me about your life, asking me about mine. You were the kind of restaurant owner and man I want to be. Hope I’m doing you proud up there.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 22, 2009 at 1:28 PM

    Those were very sweet!

  2. June 22, 2009 at 8:02 PM

    Aw. Thanks for proving that Father’s Day doesn’t have to be a commercial holiday for a biological father… it can mean plenty of things to different people.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

