Home > Uncategorized > In The End, So Worth It

In The End, So Worth It

They sit down on the bench, looking up as the city was silent and the stars were out in full force. Her arms wrapped around his elbow as they both waited for the other to start the conversation both knew had to happen.

“We’re not going to be able to keep this up once we leave.” He’s the more pragmatic of the two.

“Would you want to?”

“Yes,” He saw no reason to hesitate or lie now.

“Why?”

“Because I honestly like you and have started to love you as a friend.”

“I must admit it; I will miss that blunt honesty. So the sex has nothing to do with it?”

“This whole thing has pretty much convinced me beyond doubt I’m not programmed for casual sex. Case in point, our one-nighter turned into a month long fling.”

“Just a fling?”

“We kept it that way. Why is something I’m not sure of.”

“One, the distance. Two, neither of us is ready for more. I still love [Tony] and you are only just getting over [Eva]. Not to mention the fact that both of us are pretty much open sores on legs.”

“That’s a lovely mental image.”

She elbows him swiftly in the stomach accompanied with a brown-eyed glare.

“No one likes a smartass.”

“You do.”

“Hmm, true enough.”

“So what does this make us?”

“Friends. With the definite potential for more” She kisses him on the cheek then on the lips before shifting to half-sit in his lap. She gives him a wicked smile before moving.

“Tease.”

“Coming from you, that’s rich.”

He sticks out his tongue. “I think if not for the fact that we’re both still hurt, we would be dating right now. But I must admit that the past month has been fun. Plus I get a friend out of the deal.”

“You are the only person I know who from serious to silly that quickly.”

“I defy description Dear so don’t bother trying.” He pauses. “This could just mean I’m nuts but how would I know?”

“Point.” She sees him about to open his mouth. “Mind out of the gutter. You do know that I expect you to come to the beach to visit.”

“You never have to try hard to get me to come to the beach.”

“And if we are both still single and attracted to each other?”

“Then we deal with it when it happens. No use worrying over it now. For the moment, we are friends, anything else can come later.”

He hugs her, feeling her nuzzle against his cheek as she returns it.

“Shall we head back in?”

He doesn’t answer but slides from under her to stand and hold out his hand. As she takes it, they walk inside the building. They end up talking until the Sun begins to peak through the trees about everything from school to Twilight to the heaven that is apple pie. Future looks bright indeed.

While both have been burned by love, the past month had healed a bit of the damage. Both would tell you it was completely worth it.

*Ex-SO names changed to protect privacy.

  1. Just A Girl
    July 16, 2009 at 1:26 PM

    Oh good. Just…good. I keep telling myself it’s worth it but sometimes I have my doubts. Maybe it is?

    I have to tell myself that it is. The alternative is not pretty.

  2. July 16, 2009 at 2:16 PM

    …….*sigh*……

    🙂

  3. PQ
    July 16, 2009 at 2:53 PM

    It’s always worth it.

  4. July 16, 2009 at 3:29 PM

    Sometimes, this is what you need

  5. Tinkerbell
    July 16, 2009 at 11:55 PM

    I’m always the last to know everything. *sigh* Congrats though

  6. July 17, 2009 at 10:56 AM

    It’s so nice when it’s easy, simple, honest.

  7. July 21, 2009 at 12:17 PM

    Awwwww. It’s the butterflies in the belly days, hehe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

