Home > Uncategorized > 20SB Blog Swap: Will Blog For Food

20SB Blog Swap: Will Blog For Food

Hey folks, I’m over here today while the utterly hilarious Mom in Real Life takes the reins for a day. Enjoy.

Hello all you 20 something bloggers, Odd Duckling fans, and people directed here by your Google search for “big jugs”, I’m Rachel from “I’m a Mom in Real Life“.

….if you listen closely you can hear people seeing the word “Mom” and closing their browser….

It’s okay, those of you that stuck around know I’m awesome.

This year my daughter will be attending Kindergarten at the local Greek school. This means school uniforms & tuition. This all means that this Mama needs to get a job. As I looked around for jobs I realized a couple things;
1) Holy crap, there’s a recession going on! I’m competing against Ivy League graduates for cleaning lady jobs.
2) My resume suuuuccckkkkssss. I was a Studio Art major and the only work I could get was to paint murals at a bread store. It was fun and lasted a couple of months. Then nothing……apparently mural painting doesn’t pay the bills. So I became a bartender…..and got pregnant with my husband after a few months. So right now my resume has “mural artist- few months. Bartending-few months…….and nothing for 5 years”

Awesome.

I had resigned myself to retail/package handling jobs. I scrolled through snagajob.com and the local Craigslist, finding nothing and getting nothing in response. Then one day I found a listing. A wonderful, glorious listing!
A college in Chicago was looking for an Assistant Women’s Track Coach, with a focus on sprints! I’m an All-American sprinter!
Maybe abusing my body for 15 years could get me a job!
They wanted a cover letter and a resume. How do I write a resume about my sports success without sounding like a douche?
I called up the hubby and he got to work. After a few days we had a resume that best illustrated that I was more than just an athlete and that I was more than just a mom. He went to click the send button….
“Wait! I want to add one more thing!”
I grabbed a pen, wrote one last thing and clicked send.

What do you think? Would you hire me? (click to enlarge)

/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 22, 2009 at 9:16 AM

    glad the HTML worked for you!

  2. July 22, 2009 at 9:33 AM

    I knew it! … that’s how you keep winning at Mario Kart!

  3. Tess
    July 22, 2009 at 9:41 AM

    YOU’RE TOTALLY HIRED!!!

  4. July 22, 2009 at 10:00 AM

    I wouldn’t of touched you with a ten foot poll, till I saw you were “Batman!” now you’re totally hired! 😉 LOL

  5. ReinventingAmy
    July 22, 2009 at 10:46 AM

    I used to be the hiring manager for a company I worked for and if I saw that?

    HIRED.

    😀

  6. July 22, 2009 at 11:25 AM

    i would hire Batman in a second!

  7. July 22, 2009 at 1:29 PM

    I would totally hire you, but mostly because I already know how awesome you are…

  8. July 22, 2009 at 6:20 PM

    Erini- no I keep winning because I am also secretly Fusajiro Yamauchi

    Tess- where should I show up?

    Charlie- thanks…I think

    Amy- now I feel good about my chances

    Mich- and I, being batman, would work for you in a second

    Jesse Jo- it’s good to know that my previous levels of awesomeness could help me out too

  9. July 23, 2009 at 2:31 PM

    Only if you came with a utility belt.

  10. July 23, 2009 at 7:56 PM

    Can you do my resume?

  11. August 3, 2009 at 10:34 PM

    I GOT THE INTERVIEW!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

