Home > Uncategorized > “Hello Boys and Girls. Welcome to Sesame Street.”

“Hello Boys and Girls. Welcome to Sesame Street.”

40 years of excellent children’s programming as the pioneer of a genre that was largely an experiment. It has one 118 Emmy Awards and it has been estimated that 77 million Americans watched it as children. I am, of course, talking about Sesame Street.

To the people who gave us Big Bird and Grover, Kermit and Oscar the Grouch, Bert and Ernie, Grover, Elmo, The Cookie Monster and The Count, a very happy 40th anniversary to you.

You’ve taught children how to count, to read, to cook with their family, to be hygienic, to share, to be kind, and to deal with death. And you’ve done it with enough parental bonus that even older teens and adults can find it funny.

And to you Mr. Henson, for helping to make it possible.

Sunny day

Sweeping the clouds away

On my way to where the air is sweet

Can you tell me how to get

How to get to Sesame Street

sesamestreet

Confession: I was singing said theme song under my breath in the teacher’s lounge this morning. The history teacher who heard me (and who is in her mid 40’s) joined in with me. Both of us went away smiling.

  1. November 4, 2009 at 2:31 PM

    I love Sesame Street. I remember the bald black man, but I forget his name. He was always my favorite. One time, they were teasing him because he was bald and I thought that was so hilarious.

    Also, the big dog? Wasn’t his name Barkley? I could never pronounce it; I’d always call him Broccoli. My mom would always laugh at me, but I never understood why. Hahah!

  2. November 4, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    40 years? Wow. It’s weird because I know I watched Sesame Street as a child, yet can’t remember watching it… I can’t remember way too much of my childhood. Hm.

  3. November 5, 2009 at 10:02 PM

    I think Jim Henson was a HUGE factor in my becoming an artist.

    40 years of Awesome.

    I will ALWAYS have a soft spot for Mr. Snuffleupagus. As a matter of fact, I think I kind of married him. ^_^

  4. November 8, 2009 at 10:16 PM

    I may have learned the equivalent of several years’ worth of elementary education from watching Sesame Street

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

