Home > Uncategorized > NaNoWriMo – Week #2

NaNoWriMo – Week #2

So for those of you who managed to dodge the bullet, you might be wondering why you’re friends who are participating in the slow-torture that is National Novel Writing Month are so stressed right now. To answer that I ask you to remember all those times in your English comp classes where you had to write several pages worth of material in a week or so and you at first thought it was IMPOSSIBLE.

Remember that feeling?

Now try wrapping your head around writing what is essentially 2/3 pages a day for a grand total of 50,000 words on November 30th.

You know now why your friend is cursing themselves and the carpal tunnel they are sure to develop.

Now for those of us who are participating, hats off to you. It takes a very stubborn brand of masochism to even make the attempt.

By the time you read this, it will likely be November 8th or 9th and we will be nearing the half-way mark. That beginning rush of adrenaline has worn off, writer’s block is occurring much more frequently, and you are asking yourself whether you should just give it up as a bad job and say you clocked in over 10K words.

Bully on that.

We are reaching, what it in my opinion, the most strenuous part of the process. When you have both come so far and know just how far you have left to go. It’s discouraging, I’ll admit. You’re not alone in the frustration by a long shot.

I know it may well be like pulling teeth but do not worry about grammar. You really don’t have the luxury of worrying about finesse here. The name of the game here is endurance. However, this does not excuse a swiss cheese plot. Especially those of you writing romance novels. Do not fumble it like certain other authors do. Looking at you, Meyer.

The biggest thing to remember though? Have fun with it. Get a little crazy.  “Kick reality to the curb and go beyond the impossible.” That is the Team WriMo way.

I’ll see you at the finish line. First cup of coffee’s on me.

nanowrimo

  1. lbluca77
    November 9, 2009 at 5:36 PM

    I wanted to participate in this then a few days before it started my internet died on me and wasn’t gonna be fixed in time.

    Good luck to you and everyone participating.

    That just f’ing blows. Thanks for the well wishes, I’m going to need them.

  2. November 10, 2009 at 2:33 PM

    Ah! You’re doing this, too! I really need to get my butt moving on my story. How is yours going?

    I am actually on good timing for once. Just having a bit of difficulty writing the action scenes.

  3. November 10, 2009 at 3:38 PM

    See? I went for the less threatening NaBloPoMo, man. MUCH easier on the hands and wrists. Maybe I’ll work up to NaNoWriMo next year. ^_^ Good luck!

    I would be bored out of my school the second week if I went for NaBloPoMo. Plus it would probably make me stop blogging for a good while.

  4. November 11, 2009 at 12:12 AM

    Good luck! Are you gonna post your novel? I wouldn’t mind reading it.

    If I do post it here, it’ll probably be as I finish editing it. There is no way I’m posting it in its current EXTREMELY rushed form.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

