Home > Uncategorized > “Butterfly In The Sky. I Can Go Twice As High.Take A Look…”

“Butterfly In The Sky. I Can Go Twice As High.Take A Look…”

I learned to read in English from, of all things, my cousin’s Spider-Man collection. I would sit on a bar stool in their kitchen while she babysat, sounding out the words. Every few moments I would stop and look up at her to see if I was doing it right. A perfectionist even then, I was.

My grandmother buying me the complete Dr. Seuss collection, books I could read on my own and understand, only made me better.

Despite the fact I had serious trouble with pronunciation in my early childhood, I was all ready a lover of the written word. With Rose’s help, it was a problem I soon overcame. The Boxcar Children, Animorphs, Goosebumps, The Chronicles of Narnia. I devoured them all.

Now over 10 years after a librarian used a bit of her free time to help a struggling kid, I get to pay it forward by reading to kids at a nearby Boy’s & Girl’s Club. I sit back against a beanbag and just read through one story or another. Some times telling ones I heard as a kid. At others, making one up completely off the cuff.

I get a massive high whenever I step foot into a bookstore or library for the first time. If there is any B & N sidetrip during our time in Vegas, you’ll see what I mean. I’ll be the tall guy zipping through the fantasy and horror sections like Kel to the orange soda.

When a rainy Saturday comes along and I have no errands to run, you can often find me on the living room couch or at the kitchen table reading my latest book.

Normally I am not one to set New Year’s Resolutions. To be honest, I typically forget about them by March which quite defeats the purpose. What does this have to do with reading? I’ve been slacking, blogosphere.

Over the course of 2009, I finished maybe 3 books not related to the pursuit of my English or Education degrees. 3. So far this year, I am starting out with Stephen King’s Under The Dome but I hope to read at least 15 books in 2010 as my schedule allows.

Here’s where I need your help, lovelies.

I need your recommendations. What new books are funny? Gripping? Thought provoking? Heartwarming? What books have such an amazing story that I won’t be able to stop from reading just one more page until I look down and realize I have finished the entire thing?

I want to know.

Please and thank you.

  1. Ari
    January 5, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    I’m in the same boat – I love books, but my reading time has difinately been lacking. Some books I would read again and again include “Devil in the White City” by Erik Larson (and “Thunderstruck” by him), and “The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz. If you like graphic novel, I highly recommend “Carnet de Voyage” by Craig Thompson and “Asterois Polp” by David Mazzucchelli (I just finished it – its beautiful)

  2. January 5, 2010 at 2:46 PM

    They are YA books… but The Hunger Games series from Suzanne Collins is excellent.

    With the themes and plots involved they really shouldn’t be considered young adult, though. Can be very disturbing and haunting, but very well written. Stephen King himself recommended the first book!

    I highly recommend them.

  3. January 5, 2010 at 3:46 PM

    I am a lover of books myself, and I find myself oddly hypnotized by my recent book. My husband LOVES fantasy books. I think for the most part, the writers of this genre are not great writers and they haven’t ever kept my attention for more than a chapter, until this one, “The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss. Not only is he a fantastic storyteller, but his writing style is beautiful and intriguing! I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed this book. Good luck on your search!

  4. January 5, 2010 at 9:48 PM

    Barnes and Noble is my solace too.

    I’m about to read The Road-not because it was a movie, I haven’t seen it.

    Your “no lurking today” tag is brilliant šŸ™‚

  5. January 5, 2010 at 10:52 PM

    Ah, book recommendations. I got your back on this one šŸ˜‰ I’m going to throw all my favorites at you and you can see what sticks to the wall.

    The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie is a good, gritty fantasy.
    American Gods is a great Neil Gaiman.
    Good Omens is an awesome collaboration between Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett.
    Just about any Terry Pratchett you’d pick off the shelf is awesome, and The Last Hero is extra wonderful ’cause it has illustrations by Paul Kidby.
    The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie has lots of beautiful prose with splashes of humor – Reservation Blues is also great and incredibly funny.
    Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Suskind is dark and beautiful.
    The Hakawati by Rabih Alameddine is totally badass.
    Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore is very, very entertaining and funny.
    The Things They Carry by Tim O’Brien is one of my favorite works of metafiction.
    I’m deep in the middle of a Chuck Palahniuk binge, and I’d highly recommend anything of his – though it’s not for the faint of heart. Either Lullaby or Choke would be a good one to start with, or, if you’re not squeamish, Haunted.

    Good luck in getting back into a reading for fun groove.

  6. January 6, 2010 at 1:09 PM

    One word: Bibliophile.

    Oh, like I can leave anything at ONE word. ^_^

    -The Road is incredibly bleak and depressing, so you might want to wait until spring to read it, if you so choose. Just my opinion.

    -I’ve heard nothing but great things about The Hunger Games. My librarian friend is obsessing over them as we speak. I’m reading them after I finish Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray.

    – Have you read The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver? LOVE. I *almost* considered it up there with my all time favorite, To Kill A Mockingbird.

  7. January 6, 2010 at 1:14 PM

    P.S. The Bean Trees meets the funny/heartwarming criteria. It’s got great round characters.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

