Home > Uncategorized > Cupid Can Keep His Arrows To Himself, Thanks

Cupid Can Keep His Arrows To Himself, Thanks

V-Day.

No, not Virgin Day.

Although that would be interesting.

Rocky Horror, anyone?

*insert obligatory rendition of Sweet Transvestite here*

I’m talking about Valentine’s Day, quite possibly the most commercialized holiday in the United States outside of Christmas. Where guys are figuring out how to get into their date’s pants and women are setting various verbal traps for their significant others that would make David Xanatos spring a woody. The Super Bowl for Florists and Card Companies. Also quite possibly the most hated holiday of all time.

Ready for a shocker?

(And my mind just went to a bad mental place.)

I don’t hate Valentine’s Day. I don’t even dislike it.

Considering that I’ve only had one exceptional (the rest are best left forgotten) V-day in my 22 years of life, one which was back in 2007, I would like to think I have justifiable reason to.

Maybe this is that sickening optimism Tink continuously warns me about?

Probably.

What are my plans? I plan on spending the day hanging out with Scarlett. Considering our personalities, there are sure to be some good stories coming down the pipe. And this is quite possibly the most complicated friendship I have ever had with someone but it works for us.

Speaking of complicated, The Girl recently asked what I’m doing for V-Day in an attempt to make small talk one day in the teacher’s lounge. And when I told her, as she had asked me to treat her as a friend, she closed off. Entirely.

I think I hit a sore spot there.

How much I’m bothered is up to debate.

Never said I couldn’t be an asshole from time to time.

Right now my love life is just a jumbled mess of passive-aggressiveness, second guessing, flirtation,  subtext, and outright denial.

Fun times indeed.

So what are your V-Day thoughts? Like It? Hate It? Anyone have interesting plans?

  1. maegloth
    February 10, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    I’ve always been single on Valentine’s Day, and always extremely jealous, which lead me to hate it. Now, I’m in a serious relationship and I pictured myself cooking up a storm of elaborate dinner courses and uber-chocolatey desserts, while he brings me flowers and tells me how much he loves me.

    Wrong.

    He doesn’t believe in Valentine’s Day, and is very admant and bitter about continuing to not participate. I’ve always thought it over-commercialized and that you should show a person that you love them EVERY day of the year, but for a couple like us, who don’t get to go out a lot, I figured it could be an excuse to do something special, even though we have absolutely no money. But no.

    On February 14th, I’m going to be sitting in an arena, freezing, while he plays hockey. It feels wrong to be so bitter, but I can’t help it.

  2. February 10, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    i’ve been in some sort of relationship for v-day every year since the age of 18 (totalling 3 relationships) but it’s never been an amazing day. this year my boyfriend has to fly out of town for work on the 13th so…*shrug*. i don’t really want it to not matter, but i’m sort of forced into feeling that way, i think.

  3. February 10, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    I really hate it… and it stems from a very traumatic episode in the fourth grade. Which is a story I will post on Valentine’s day for all to read.

    So. I will be treating myself to some sweet cream cold stone ice cream that has been beat into submission with oreos and strawberries while my happy ass is sitting in a movie theater watching Legion.

    🙂

  4. February 10, 2010 at 4:02 PM

    blerg. I hate V-day. I suppose hate isn’t the word.. I just strongly don’t give a flying fuck. And it’s not because I’m a bitter, single, jealous girl either. It’s because I really love chocolate and Vday makes it really hard for me to stick to my diet. I plan on being the only girl at this years gay boy slumber party. I’m a little scared, but mostly excited!

  5. February 10, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    Sometimes though passive aggressive flirting can be a blast. Well maybe when you are the one doing it.

  6. February 10, 2010 at 5:08 PM

    V-day is also said to be SAD.. i.e Single awareness day! lol

    at least here it is a bit “camouflaged” since Chinese New Year is also on the 14feb.

  7. February 10, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    Meh, the boy and I have only been dating for about a month and neither of us is particularly into it, so we’ll probably just watch a movie at his house if we do anything. I’m so completely ambivalent about it.

  8. February 10, 2010 at 5:52 PM

    I used to always love Valentine’s Day, and probably still will, although this one will be different, given the turn of events in my life. I’m going to try my hardest to not feel bitter though. I hate mean, angry single people and I don’t want to be one.

  9. February 10, 2010 at 8:24 PM

    i love the thought of valentines day BUT i have only ever had a boyfriend to share it with for 2 of them. 2 valentines days in 26 years…. sad.

    anyhoo…

    i will probably spend this valentines day doing what has become a tradition… drinking ungodly amounts of wine with my other single friend(s) while eating anything and everything and watching sappy movies and wishing that one day my “prince” will come along.

    its lame. i know. but what else am i gonna do? go out with my couple friends and be a third wheel? i think not!

  10. February 11, 2010 at 12:36 AM

    I don’t love it or hate it, though I can’t say I’ve really ever had a great one. This Valentine’s Day I will be working, which seems pretty pathetic, but anyone who sees me will be in a similarly pathetic position, so I won’t feel bad.

  11. February 11, 2010 at 8:02 AM

    I don’t like how there much pressure there is, but I like the idea of celebrating love, even if it isn’t romantic.

  12. February 12, 2010 at 10:17 PM

    Mr. T (not the macho one with the jewelry, but my husband) and I are going to a wee one’s birthday bash in the afternoon, having a “just us” dinner date and then going to the theater with friends.

    I like Valentine’s when we hang out with lots of people we love, and have a little “us” time, too. If it’s all focused on living up to expectations and buying each other stuff, I don’t like it.

    Happy Valentine’s, Kendall! *mwah*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

