Home > Uncategorized > Where Do I Go From Here?

Where Do I Go From Here?

As of this morning, I’ve been accepted to both.

Seriously Higher Education Gods? You want one of the most indecisive motherfuckers on the planet to choose where they’re going to spend the next 2-3+ years? I have trouble deciding what I want for dinner most nights.

And now the clock is ticking.

All I can say is that I all ready know and love New York City so LA? Need to see your A-Game when I come visit. You’ve got a lot of ground to recover.

Although I must admit that I find bears infinitely more awesome that a bobcat. And as I would feel nowhere near the bowel-voiding terror in front of a lynx, that is a point in UCLA’s favour.

As a Southerner, I have to think about which is more galling. Becoming a West Coaster or becoming a Yankee?

No, no contest there. The teasing I would have to endure from Tink alone decides it.

Lastly as Scarlett is heading to Stanford, being a mere 5 hour drive away instead of half way across the country is pretty damn appealing if I don’t say so myself.

So Elizabeth? Jenn?  Think LA is big enough for this southern transplant? I promise to be a good neighbour.

Don't think I won't.

*I honestly don’t know which to pick.

**No, I really would not live it up to a coin toss or the (mostly) rather silly reasons listed above. I’m not that stupid. I think. Give me alcohol and you might get a different answer.

  1. March 15, 2010 at 12:56 PM

    I say YAY LA! Warmer. And I’m way closer and I think everyone should be closer to me.

  2. March 15, 2010 at 1:05 PM

    Well you are forgetting one important thing about LA. The weather. Seriously you can’t beat So Cal weather, yes we have smog but we also have warmth. It is going to be in the 80’s this week.

    I can see though why this would be a hard choice to make though. For me personally I would pick NYU because I love NY and I am already from LA.

    Good luck with this decision!

  3. March 15, 2010 at 1:09 PM

    I AM SO TORN! I went to NYU for undergrad, but now live in LA, and for me, LA has been a much better living situation. The weather was a HUGE factor for me, as were the people. I got a fantastic education at NYU, but the California lifestyle definitely suits me better. People are friendlier (except for in Hollywood, I don’t recommend going there…), and don’t move so fast all the time. I think LA people are more progressive in their thinking, and also healthier, whereas more people seem to smoke in NYC and care only about money and wealth. Also, LA is so diverse. Not just in people, but also in climate and topography. You can drive 15 minutes one way and be at the beach. An hour another way and be in the desert, OR another way and be in the mountains skiing. There’s so much to do. And yea, UCLA is a great school, too. I think you should think about where you want to be after grad school as well, not just where you want to be for 2 years. Anyway, that’s my 2 cents! Good luck mister!

  4. March 15, 2010 at 2:20 PM

    Hrm… a hard choice indeed. All else about the schools being equal, which city would you rather live in?

    Good luck deciding.

  5. March 15, 2010 at 3:02 PM

    Since I will hopefully be out west in a year…I vote for LA.

    Oh the warmth…I would envy you muchly.

  6. March 16, 2010 at 4:45 AM

    I’m heading out to LA in June. New York is awesome but of the two, I’d probably choose to live in LA.

  7. March 16, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    I picked UNC over UVA because they gave me a laptop.

    True story.

  8. March 17, 2010 at 3:17 PM

    Just stumbled across your blog. Congrats on getting into two great schools and good luck deciding!

  9. March 18, 2010 at 4:30 AM

    how exciting. am so proud of you right now!

  10. June 14, 2010 at 10:06 PM

    ahhhh it all makes sense now… as much as the weather on the West coast probably would have been better, i think you made the right choice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

