Home > Uncategorized > Not So Much A “Goodbye” As A “See You Soon.”

Not So Much A “Goodbye” As A “See You Soon.”

It’s coming.

Some of you like Mindy, Christie, and Mich have been around since my early days and others came around as I started coming out of my shell on 20SB and Twitter.

For those who wondered about my long internet siesta, well, yeah my line about being swamped by real life is very much true. The underlying reason?

I’m tired y’all.

While yes I did start the Confessions back in ’08 as a sort of online diary, I don’t have the narcissism or motivation to write about the trivialities of my day for much longer. Example, I have a post discussing my real first impressions of New York City from my neighbourhood to the people in my building to my job to the food nearby. Dragging would be a definite understatement here. If I don’t find it interesting, then I see no reason why any of you should.

My life just isn’t that interesting.

Is there drama? Sure, I’m a 22 year-old living with his girlfriend in a New York apartment while juggling grad school and work. Bombs everywhere but without some blogging niche, my posts are usually just random musings sprinkling liberally with pop culture references and comma abuse or the occasional serious emotional post like issues stemming from rape or body image or racism.

Don’t get me wrong though. I still love to write but blogging lost a bit of its appeal last summer after so long away from it and I don’t think it’s coming back.

And yet writing my New Moon review was a blast even with such a horrible movie and ever since then I’ve been wanting to do more of them. Were it not for the fact that most of my free time was spent with friends or dealing with  my whoring around, I would have.

Here was something that (to my knowledge) no one was really doing in the 20SB crowd. Sure some people do book reviews but movies were pretty much an untapped resource of comedy gold. Here was a way for me to forge my own way through the blogosphere instead of just another face in the personal blogger crowd.

Fact of the matter is that, frankly, I’m not great at telling stories about my personal life. After a long conversation with Scarlett, I did start to edit what I wrote about people here as I did have a cousin find this and it’s just easier if relatives have no ammunition against me. That and the fact that my humour is mostly snark, in-jokes, over-the-top expressions/gesturing and semi-obscure pop culture references makes it rather difficult to make these events funny.

So I think it’s time to retire this blog. The Kendall who started was unsure of himself and at times a bit needy and thankfully I’ve grown past that person. I’ll still use GMail, Twitter, and the 20SB forums. I’ll still be reading and commenting on your blogs. Just need to cut my ties here and see what happens without this dying weight.

This site will remain online until I can have my new idea up and running so don’t expect anything before December. My green screen arrives Monday and I’ll buy the video editing software I need within the next month. Expect something epic.

Thanks to all of who you’ve been part of the ride thus far and I’ll hope you’ll come back to continue. You’re all fantastic.

This song is ending. But the story never ends.

Just like that will never leave.

So long kids and thanks for the fish.

  1. June 24, 2010 at 4:35 PM

    I always feel sad when people stop blogging, but as long as you promise not to disappear, then I understand. Blogging is really too much to keep up if your heart’s not in it. Looking forward to your new project.

  2. June 24, 2010 at 6:19 PM

    Aww…this is sad. But I understand. And you’re right, the story isn’t ending anytime soon. 🙂

  3. June 25, 2010 at 10:01 AM

    😦 – it seems that every time i find a blogger i really like to read they go away. glad you’re staying around twitter and perhaps coming back with a new idea…

  4. June 25, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    =( I’m definitely a bit sad over here, but at least I can text and bug you when need be. Can’t wait to see what the new idea is. In the mean time, the blogosphere will miss you. A lot. A real lot. Sigh.

  5. Liz
    June 28, 2010 at 12:35 AM

    I totally feel you. AND I’m sad because although I’m a bad blogger buddy lately, I’m so happy I found you through 20sb…you’re a stand up guy who is hilarious and warm and engaging and you rock. I’m glad you’re doing what you feel is right for you, and you best not disappear! 🙂

  6. June 30, 2010 at 4:04 AM

    OMS.

    i can’t believe this!

    at least i still have you on twitter, i guess…….

  7. July 11, 2010 at 3:49 PM

    Whatevski. I’m gonna win this shit and move to NYC and we’ll be besties forever.

    GET READY.

  8. April 10, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    a4dfVv Very true! Makes a change to see someone spell it out like that. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

