Home > HIGH OCTANE NIGHTMARE FUEL > Sweet Dreams: Introduction

Sweet Dreams: Introduction

Well it’s the last day of September which means the next few weeks are going to be filled with possible costume and candy shopping, decorations, horror movies and all specials all over the place, ending in my favourite holiday.

Seriously, I make no secret of how much I love Halloween.

Now this year I want to do something special. While watching the original Halloween, I was thinking about movies and books that were actually horrifying when I came across an idea. Most of you remember my countdown of nostalgic TV shows and while I enjoyed it, I hated ranking them as there were a lot more I could have added. That and I couldn’t go as in depth on my picks as I would have liked due to time constraints.

Not this time.

This time, I’m thinking not so much a countdown but a tribute. One to all things vile, nightmare-enducing, and all together mentally damaging. Eldritch Abominations? Cool. Monstrous Clowns? Perfect. Schoolgirls? Err, OK.  All throughout the month of October, I’ll be taking you all on a trip through some of the scariest examples from film, television, books, games, anime, and other media.

So prepare yourself for raptors and possessed children, tragic monsters and existential angst, creepy dolls and the lovesick cars.

Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome to…

-the earth shakes-

What the f-

AMATEUR.

Who the fuck are you?

ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW IS THAT I WILL BE YOUR CAPTAIN FOR THE NEXT 31 DAYS. IF YOU’RE LUCKY. PLEASE KEEP ALL SOULS WITHIN THE RIDE AT ALL TIMES. NO USE IN THEM GOING TO WASTE AFTER ALL.

So basically you’re saying that you’ll be picking my topics?

FROM A CERTAIN POINT OF VIEW.

Cut the cryptic Obi Wan.

WOULD YOU RATHER BE FORCED TO FINISH NEW MOON INSTEAD? IT CAN BE ARRANGED.

No, that’s quite all right. Considering how hard I am to scare anyway, no need to add to the punishment. So what’s up first Cap’n?

SO GLAD YOU ASKED. -voice changes to that of a meek, teenage boy- “I mustn’t run away, I mustn’t run away, I mustn’t run away.”

Wait, that line sounds…familiar. Very familiar. Dammit.  If you’re impersonating Shinji Ikari then that means Eva’s up first isn’t it? Don’t believe in easing into things do you?

SOMETIMES. LIKE WITH YOUR–

If you say my mom, I will gut you. Booming Voice of Evil or not.

As I was saying  before being interrupted by some extradimensional force. Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome to

The Odd Duck Presents

Sweet Dreams:

31 Days Of Nightmares

First up? Sigh. Neon Genesis Evangelion.

This pretty much says it all.

Welcome to the mind fuck, folks.


  1. September 30, 2010 at 9:39 AM

    This is going to be spectacular.

    And can I just say I am glad you are back to blogging?

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

